~ About ~ Rules ~ Scoring ~ Request~ Links ~ Reviewers ~ Become ~ Pending List ~
~ Reviewed ~ Rare Silk Rings ~ Rare Silk Diaries ~ Rare Silk's Profile ~ Host ~ Design ~
~ OUR AWARD WINNERS ~

bearshoney

bearshoney

F o o l s . R u s h . I n

CONTENT: 40/45

Entries like this one are a little bit like a day log, but written well - it's witty, but it still tells about your day. I liked entries like this.

I like that you explained the image you used as your background. Many people allude to the photos they use, but very few actually take time to explain why they chose it and/or why it pertains to their journals.

Generally, you write day-logs, but poetically. I enjoy reading about your day because you DONT just say: "First I did this, then I went there and did that, then I saw Her and did this, then we went home and did that." Essentially you write very well. I commend you.

PERSONALITY: 25/25

I loved this entry. I related to it because my "father" and I also had a rough and almost non-existant relationship. Although my situation is different from yours, I could feel a certain percentage of what you must feel. This kind of expression is essential in a journal - I love it! =)

I could also relate to you in this entry - abusing yourself. This is something I took to doing to myself to get rid of bad thoughts. I find comfort in afflicting physical pain to forget about mental pain. I could connect to you in that entry, but perhaps not everyone could. Never-the-less, it's an emotional entry - and you express yourself well.

Entries like this one are good too because you pour out your emotion - in this case it's a wonderful emotion - and the reader can feel connected with you very well.

EXTRAS: 7/10

Links, bio, 130 things... that's really it. There could be a lot more in this category.

CONTACT: 10/10

Notes, guestbook, email, tag board. That's sufficient in my book!

LINK: 10/10

You have a functioning link on your reviews page.

COMMENTS:

First off - let me just appologize for taking so freakin long to do this review. So much stuff happened in Real Life that I took way too long. I'm really sorry. +5 points for not complaining about my tardiness.

I wont take points off for this... BUT - I had a really hard time with things flipping upside-down on the mouse-over. This was especially annoying in your past entries page when the link is spread over two lines, but when I mouse-over, it jumps to one line... ARG! Consider changing that. =)

Like I said, I really enjoyed reading your journal, I would most certainly return. I was a little put off at first with the photo. I was expecting something more "goth." However, I was pleasantly surprised. Especially to find out we have so much in common. I would love to get to know you more.

In terms of improvement... I think that there are regions you could expand upon. Definitley include more "extras" and more history about yourself. It comes out in the entries, but sometime's it's helpful to have it all separated somewhere else in a list... perhaps a time-line. I also think that you could expand more on the "poetic" entries. You have several entries which sound like you're writing a poem. Some of them really have no clear subject. I would suggest either moving these to a separate archive page and labeling them as your poetry, or elaborating on the subjects more to reflect exactly what it is you're writing about.

Other than that, I think you have a really great journal going here. I can't wait to hear more about your life.

Also, feel free to join the Emerald Ring!

Score: 97/100

Reviewed on 2003-10-21 at 9:21 p.m. by Midge

last review - next review